Skip Navigation

The project logo Historic Resources Commission

The project logo Historic Resources Commission

The Historic Resources Commission (HRC) was created in 1979 through a local ordinance adopted by both the City of Asheville and Buncombe County pursuant to the North Carolina General Statutes. The joint city/county commission consists of 12 members, with 6 appointments from each jurisdiction. All members have equal voting rights and serve 3-year terms. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms. Officers of the commission are elected among themselves.


Regular meetings of the HRC are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. in the 1st Floor North Conference Room of City Hall (70 Court Plaza).

2023 Meeting Schedule


Past Events